Halal E-Codes Card: Simple guide to check halal ingredients

A latest version has been updated. Please check the project page.

Salam. Living in Australia where there is no clear indication of the halal status of food, has not made my life any easier especially during trips to the supermarket.

It is quite confusing when I look at the ingredients label on a product and find a few mind boggling ingredient numbers or E-Codes. To make things worst, I don’t even know their halal status.

So I decided to come up with a shopping guide which lists all the numbers that is not halal so I can safely choose the halal ones. I found a website which shows a list of E-Codes with their status.

Here is the first version of my halal shopping card.

Then, I’ve found out that there are few iPhone apps that allow its user to check the status using the phone. They are very useful apps and I’ve been using then when we visit the supermarket. They are iEat Halal and iHalalFoodGuide.




Not everyone has smartphone

However, the problem is that not all Muslims have an iPhone or iPod. It even takes some time to load the app and key in the numbers. Thus, to solve the problem, I’ve designed this second version of my halal shopping card which is more comprehensive to make it handy to bring to the supermarket.

The halal status is based on the iPhone app by MobiDev Technologies. There are four categories based on the colour of the code.

The black is conditional. If it is made from plant or mineral, it is halal. If it is from animal, it’s not halal.
The blue is Mushbooh, it is in doubt of their halal status.
The purple is for unknown. There is no information about its status.
There is only red which means totally Haram.

Instructions

1. Print out the halal-ecodes-card.pdf on a card instead of plain A4 paper.
2. Cut according to the crop mark.

3. Bring it to supermarket. I’ll just put it inside my wallet and flash it easily.

4. Analyze the ingredients on a product. If it states the origin is from vegetable source, then skip to the next number.
5. If there’s no vegetable mentioned, now you can refer to the card.
6. If you still want to buy the product, it is up to you. You can also contact the manufacturer to enquire about the manufacturing process and ingredients related to it, like Is it Halal Blog.

Here’s the download link

DOWNLOAD HALAL-ECODES-CARD.PDF

View my web app E-Code Halal Filter to check the status instantly.

Till then, have a halal shopping with confidence to all Muslim out there. Remember, looking for halal is fardhu!

15 thoughts on “Halal E-Codes Card: Simple guide to check halal ingredients”

  1. Pingback: Reading Label: Halal Foods | Odyssey

  2. E 120 which is derived from an insect.other than this all the ingredients you can,t say as Haraam/Halaal straight forward. E CODES ARE A NUMBER SYSTEM TO IDENTIFY AND SPECIFY FOOD ADDITIVES.SOURCE OF A FOOD ADDITIVE CAN’T BE IDENTIFIED BY BASED ON E CODE.for Eg:E 441 is gelatine, a highly critical ingredient.it can be derived from Halaal source (Cow,Cattle..) or Haraam source (pig).But what ever the source the E CODE IS SAME.so just you cant memorize E CODEs and say Halaal/Haraamm

  3. Pingback: Halal Shopping at the Supermarket! | wheninningbo

  4. Dr.Rasheed Hussain Thurabi

    Thank you for your assortment of I-cord (Islamic cord) from E-code.
    Islamic cord حبل الله 
    (واعتصموا بحبل الله )‏

  5. I’ve been to the Apple Store in my iPhone and tried to download the halal codes and they tell no results in n my search

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *